This reminds me of drama class in high school, where the teacher tries to draw you out of your shell by having you express your own unique nature in front of the class. The more expressive, unique, and eccentric you are, the more you are applauded. One must stay within bounds however – one cannot just step outside the social norms that is high school life, and expect to live.

I wonder how I should introduce myself, and the doubts and questions start to roll in. Am I being too presumptuous, weird, or odd. Am I exaggurating myself to seem cool, to fit in, or to purposefully not fit in, will it even matter if I am truthful about myself or if I create a whole new identity would I achieve all my dreams? This is as intense as high school drama, creating a character in Skyrim, or a new family in the Sims.

I’ll start at the top then. My goal in this blog is to explore behavioural economics, with flavours of science fiction and philosophy. I grew up watching Neon Genesis Evangelion, playing violin, and attempting to make sense of western philosophers such as Descartes. I revelled in fantasy novels, and got in trouble often with students and teachers alike for questioning perspective and reality. I started Economics in year 11, but fell in love with the so called ‘dismal science’ in year 12 – which may be in part due to a teacher who encouraged questioning assumptions, logic, and thrived in chaotic classroom debates.

I decided to be reasonable, and worked full-time before going to University. During this time, I discovered that money held a very strong sway over my decisions, and although economics was my passion, money drove my choices. Eventually, after 6 years part-time study, I majored in economics, minoring in philosophy and statistics. I had thought that choosing philosophy units, although fascinating to me, would be useless in application, but this whimsical choice turned out to be one of my best ones. Statistics was a curiosity, and I picked it for its applicability to economics, however I found that in studying these three I found a thread of logic, of different yet similar lenses of reality, and I became hooked.

During the undergrad degree I also started learning Japanese, a side-effect of an obsession with Japan and its culture. Likely started through anime, I am still obsessed and watch anime weekly. One Piece forever! ❤ Since the undergrad I have moved onto a graduate certificate in project management, and discovered yetanother potential interest – systems theory.

The more I study, read, explore, and discover, the more I find new ways to see myself, the world, and our people. The interconnectedness of so many varying realities fascinates me, and how our future is driven by their interactions and existence. Who are we, why are we, and where are we going? I will use behavioural economics as the lens for these questions, and I’ll shade my findings with my other fascinations. This is what I’d like to share with you.

See you next time!

